Ancestral Sources Tutorial ~ Restore Original Settings

Introduction

Now restore Ancestral Sources and Family Historian to their original state.

Restore Ancestral Sources

To restore Ancestral Sources, use Tools > Restore A.S. Options… and then locate and Open the AS Options Backup.xml file backed up originally.

Ancestral Sources will then close, and when next run will use the restored settings.

Restore A.S. Options

Restore Family Historian

Version 4.1 (or later)

Delete Family Historian Sample Project

To restore Family Historian Version 4.1 (or later) perform the following steps:

  1. Delete the entire Family Historian Sample Project folder from within the Family Historian Projects master folder, or use File > Project Window… > More Tasks… button > Delete Project… option.
  2. Delete any downloaded image file(s) from your usual family history working folder, such as:
    • 1901_RG13_0603_052_10.jpg
    • 1897-06-07 CHILDS Marriage.jpg
  3. Use File > Project Window… > More Tasks… button > Samples > Reset Sample Project and accept the prompts to recreate the sample project. This project can be used for any experimental use of either Family Historian or Ancestral Sources without risk to your main project, and can easily be reset.

Version 3.1

To restore Family Historian Version 3.1 perform the following steps:

  1. Delete the Sample.ged file from your usual family history working folder.
  2. Delete any downloaded image file(s) from your usual family history working folder, such as:
    • Census 1901 Guildford, Surrey, England RG13 0603 052 10 079 (CHILDS, Rupert).jpg
    • Marriage Newton, Surrey, England (Parish Church) 7 Jun 1897 Rupert Childs & Janet Barbara Hodges.jpg

Next >

Return to the User Guide.