* Fact Sets

Older V4 Queries please post for any version in the General Forum
Locked
avatar
janefrances
Famous
Posts: 157
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 15:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Herts

Fact Sets

Post by janefrances » 12 May 2013 20:19

I'm having a problem trying to import the Kinsfolk fact set. It's showing up in my fact sets after installing it however it appears to be a empty folder. [confused]

ID:6943

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16628
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Fact Sets

Post by tatewise » 12 May 2013 21:07

I am not sure what you mean by an 'empty folder'.
Where is this 'empty folder'?

Did you follow the Installation Instructions:
The download is a ZIP file of a Family Historian 4 project folder. Simply extract all its contents to your Family Historian Projects folder. If using an earlier Family Historian then extract the ZIP file to any convenient folder. Locate the KinsfolkKinsfolk.fh_dataKinsfolk.ged file and double click it to open Family Historian. Then use File > Import > Facts Set from KinsfolkPublicKinsfolk.fhf.
To extract the Kinsfolk.zip file contents, use right-click Extract All... and choose the folder to extract into.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
janefrances
Famous
Posts: 157
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 15:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Herts

Fact Sets

Post by janefrances » 13 May 2013 16:23

This is what I have done. Tools-Work with fact sets. When I drop down the Event/Attribute list the fact set is showing but it appears to be nothing in it.

In my documents I have a folder named Family historian projects, clicking on this I have  folders Family historian sample projects, Janes family tree and kinsfolk.

Using Windows 7

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16628
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Fact Sets

Post by tatewise » 13 May 2013 22:32

I am still not sure what you mean by 'When I drop down the Event/Attribute list the fact set is showing but it appears to be nothing in it.'
The Tools > Work With Fact Sets option opens the Event/Attribute List dialogue that should look like this:

Image

Under Fact Set you can see the Kinsfolk entries amongst other Fact Sets, but your only other Fact Set may be just Standard.

What in this Event/Attribute List dialogue has 'nothing in it' in your display?

In FH can you use File > Project Window, select Kinsfolk from Project List, and open it with Open Project button?

Did you use File > Import/Export > Import > Fact Set and open ...Family Historian ProjectsKinsfolkPublicKinsfolk.fhf to install the Kinsfolk Fact Set?
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
janefrances
Famous
Posts: 157
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 15:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Herts

Fact Sets

Post by janefrances » 14 May 2013 20:01

Tried again this afternoon with a fresh mind and discovered I had missed out public/Kinsfolk.fhf

All sorted now. Thanks again.[smile]

Locked