* Exporting witness info, addresses, and custom family facts

Questions about exporting information from FH to other programs and websites
KaileyH
Family Historian: V7

Exporting witness info, addresses, and custom family facts

Post by KaileyH »

I’m pretty new to Family Historian but I love it already. I have tried several other programs and was always disappointed by their limitations. Family Historian’s learning curve intimidated me for a while, but once I got beyond that, I realized it was just what I was looking for.

I was hoping to clarify some things, though, before I add too many facts. I know from reading forums for other genealogy software that the use of witnesses/shared facts, addresses, and I believe custom family facts was discouraged because these things often did not translate well to other programs. Is this the case with Family Historian 7 as well?

It’s not a deal breaker for me. I just want to know so I can enter my data in the way that is least likely to create headaches for me later. Thanks for any info!
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar

Re: Exporting witness info, addresses, and custom family facts

Post by ColeValleyGirl »

Hi, Kailey and welcome -- good to see you over here.

I'm going to leave this for Mike Tate to answer -- he's the group expert on exporting. (No pressure, Mike :) )
tatewise
Megastar

Re: Exporting witness info, addresses, and custom family facts

Post by tatewise »

KaileyH wrote: 30 Dec 2023 12:52 I was hoping to clarify some things, though, before I add too many facts. I know from reading forums for other genealogy software that the use of witnesses/shared facts, addresses, and I believe custom family facts was discouraged because these things often did not translate well to other programs. Is this the case with Family Historian 7 as well?
Welcome to the FHUG Kailey.

FH V7 certainly supports all those features you mentioned.

Whether they export to other products varies greatly from product to product.