* Double clicking on child

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
Post Reply
avatar
E Wilcock
Megastar
Posts: 1011
Joined: 11 Oct 2014 07:59
Family Historian: V6.1
Location: London
Contact:

Double clicking on child

Post by E Wilcock » 09 Sep 2020 08:46

If I double click on a selected child, hoping to make them the focus person, it has no effect.
One has to move the mouse and click on the focus icon. And then the same as one moves to the next sibling.

It could be that fh does not provide this link. But it annoys me. So I think it worth asking whether it is an error? Because in a diagram one can click on any name and it becomes the focus.

User avatar
ColeValleyGirl
Megastar
Posts: 1759
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 22:02
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Contact:

Re: Double clicking on child

Post by ColeValleyGirl » 09 Sep 2020 09:12

What do you have Tools > Preferences > Focus Window > Double Click Action set to?

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 18927
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Double clicking on child

Post by tatewise » 09 Sep 2020 11:41

Can you clarify where you are double-clicking the child?
Is it a Children entry in the Focus Window on the left, or a Children entry in the Spouse tab at the base of Property Box?

BTW: When you double-click a box in a Diagram it opens their Property Box and does NOT become the Focus.

Perhaps you mean you want to see the Property Box of the children?
In the Focus Window just single-click the child and their Property Box is shown on the right.
In the Property Box at the bottom click the blue triangle to the right of the child and their Property Box opens.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
E Wilcock
Megastar
Posts: 1011
Joined: 11 Oct 2014 07:59
Family Historian: V6.1
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Double clicking on child

Post by E Wilcock » 10 Sep 2020 14:45

tatewise wrote:
09 Sep 2020 11:41
Can you clarify where you are double-clicking the child?
Is it a Children entry in the Focus Window on the left, or a Children entry in the Spouse tab at the base of Property Box?
I am double clicking in the focus window. I didnt realise the children were listed in the property box as I usually have that docked top right and have not opened it deep enough, to see children listed there.
tatewise wrote:
09 Sep 2020 11:41
BTW: When you double-click a box in a Diagram it opens their Property Box and does NOT become the Focus.
I havent used diagrams much.
tatewise wrote:
09 Sep 2020 11:41
Perhaps you mean you want to see the Property Box of the children?
In the Focus Window just single-click the child and their Property Box is shown on the right.
In the Property Box at the bottom click the blue triangle to the right of the child and their Property Box opens.
I havent realised that the focus person and the person in the property box did not have to be the same, nor that one could edit someone in the property box without them being the focus person as well. So the distinction between the two is new to me and I now see the difference between one click and two. Sorry about that.

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 18927
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Double clicking on child

Post by tatewise » 10 Sep 2020 14:56

In your original posting...
E Wilcock wrote:
09 Sep 2020 08:46
If I double click on a selected child, hoping to make them the focus person, it has no effect.
Is this double click working for you now?
It should make the child the Focus person AND open their Property Box.

In your original posting...
E Wilcock wrote:
09 Sep 2020 08:46
Because in a diagram one can click on any name and it becomes the focus.
This confused me because that is NOT what happens, so I posted that the Property Box opens.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

Post Reply