* Diagram - Hide Photo if Living

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
Post Reply
avatar
quarlton
Diamond
Posts: 57
Joined: 26 Feb 2004 13:07
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Lincolnshire
Contact:

Diagram - Hide Photo if Living

Post by quarlton » 14 Jan 2020 14:44

I have made a modified template for B,M, D for a diagram that will be given to other people.

If the person is 'Living' then the name shows as 'Living, and BMD are not shown

However I would like to hide the photograph of 'Living' people but can't see how to do that.

Any suggestions much appreciated.

Dave
Dave Simpson ~ Boulton, Braham, Carney, Simpson and Jacobs

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 17083
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Diagram - Hide Photo if Living

Post by tatewise » 14 Jan 2020 15:09

Theoretically, if you Edit the <picture marker> in the Text Scheme it should be possible to make it conditional on the Flag Condition of say the Living flag.
However, it does not work and I reported that to Calico Pie over 3 years ago.
You could try reporting it again explaining why it is important, and it might get fixed in FH V7.

It will not be easy to hide such photos, especially if you have several per living person.
The only method I can think of is on their Media tab, Edit each photo, and tick Exclude from Diagrams.

Having produced and saved the Diagram you can undo the changes with File > Backup/Restore > Revert to Snapshot.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

User avatar
davidf
Famous
Posts: 244
Joined: 17 Jan 2009 19:14
Family Historian: V6.2

Re: Diagram - Hide Photo if Living

Post by davidf » 14 Jan 2020 16:35

Another way to tackle this might be through "Command Line" changes

1) Create an Image "Nil Portrait" that has nothing other than "suitable text" - say "Living Person - Image withheld"
2) Whenever you create an image of someone living preface the actual file name with "Living"
3) Create a set of "Nil Portrait" images for each living person - in a different folder - where the file names are identical to the actual portrait images. In Windows the command line "FOR" command (similar in Linux) would enable you to do this from one command.
4) Create two batch files which will:
A) Prior to viewing a diagram where you want to "hide portraits":
i) copy all "Living*.jpg" to a temporary folder
ii) overwrite all "Living*.jpg" images - in your media folder - with their identically named "Nil Portrait" versions
B) After viewing a diagram where you want to "hide portraits":
i) overwrite the "Nil Portrait" "Living*.jpg" images - in your media folder - with the identically named actual portrait versions from the temporary folder.
Just don't run batch file A twice in succession!
David
Running FH 6.2.7. Under Wine on Linux (Lubuntu 18.04 LTS)

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7821
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Re: Diagram - Hide Photo if Living

Post by Jane » 14 Jan 2020 16:39

There is an easier way, if you display the diagram, then select all the "living" boxes using the Set Marks with Query option and then right click on one of the boxes and set the Picture option to None.
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

avatar
quarlton
Diamond
Posts: 57
Joined: 26 Feb 2004 13:07
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: Diagram - Hide Photo if Living

Post by quarlton » 14 Jan 2020 16:52

Thanks for that.

Calico Pie have just given me the same advise about using a query to hide photos.
Dave Simpson ~ Boulton, Braham, Carney, Simpson and Jacobs

avatar
quarlton
Diamond
Posts: 57
Joined: 26 Feb 2004 13:07
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: Diagram - Hide Photo if Living

Post by quarlton » 15 Jan 2020 08:27

This is the guidance received from Ros at Family Historian Support. It works well.
It's not possible to do it in a Single step, but you can work around the problem as follows.

Get your diagram displayed.

Then select Diagram>Set/Clear Marks using Query

Image



Image
Select the "Has Flag" Query and then select "Living" when prompted for the flag.

All the living boxes will highlight and be selected.
Right click on one of the highlighted boxes and select "Format"

Then in the Pictures section select None

Image

Then finally go to the Diagram menu Set/Clear Marks and select Clear Marks.

You can then save your diagram as a Chart for future use.
Dave Simpson ~ Boulton, Braham, Carney, Simpson and Jacobs

Post Reply