* Saving ';Merge File'; changes?

Homeless Posts from the old forum system
Locked
avatar
ThigWich
Gold
Posts: 25
Joined: 09 Apr 2012 19:02
Family Historian: None

Saving ';Merge File'; changes?

Post by ThigWich » 12 May 2012 20:28

I have a lot of records to compare and to do it all in one sitting is not possible. I can leave the 'Merge File' window open and come back to it but I wonder if I hit cancel will all my checks,discards,keeps etc be lost. IOW, I don't won't to merge yet but I want to keep my edits in place. Is that possible?
Thanks

ID:6234

User avatar
PeterR
Megastar
Posts: 1069
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 16:55
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Northumberland, UK

Saving ';Merge File'; changes?

Post by PeterR » 12 May 2012 22:28

Have you considered using the Split Tree Helper or Export GEDCOM to break up into smaller 'chunks' the file that you're merging into your 'master' file?  That way you should be able to complete all aspects of the merge of a 'chunk' (Families, Sources, etc., as well as Individuals) in one sitting.

avatar
ThigWich
Gold
Posts: 25
Joined: 09 Apr 2012 19:02
Family Historian: None

Saving ';Merge File'; changes?

Post by ThigWich » 12 May 2012 23:36

OK, thanks. I'll look into that.

Locked