* Best way to build an interesting web site ??

Homeless Posts from the old forum system
maud
Family Historian: None

Best way to build an interesting web site ??

Post by maud »

Am about to fulfil one of my New Year resolutions and finally put up a web site for all the family history stuff and wondered if anyone could give me any pointers or links to sites to look at for inspiration.

Although I have been messing around with computers and databases for years, so am not quite a complete novice, I have yet to build a web site.

I know I could easily just generate one with Legacy or one of the other programs such as gedHTree etc, but I'd like to do more than this.

Ideally I would like to have, in addition to the basic site as generated by one of the above -

1 - a public area for all to see, with something like this forum for feedback

2 - a further 'members' area where living/publicity shy  family members could view/chat/post items that they would prefer not to be easily available to the whole world

3 - loads (>500) of photo's and scanned images as thumbnails or to download

4 - One of my lines has turned into a 'one name study', as there seem to be so few of us worldwide. It would be great to have some form of incorporating the database/spreadsheet data that I have such as BMD etc for view and to encourage feedback.

Looking at Jane's and other peoples sites shows how much is possible - if only I knew how...

I would also like to see other peoples favourite family sites to gather more ideas.

Have taken on board Jane's idea and registered the domain names with getdotted/ freeola and am now raring to go. I am willing to learn about php or css or whatever the latest good methods are.

Thanks and happy new year to everyone

Julia

ID:20
Jane
Site Admin
Family Historian: V7

Best way to build an interesting web site ??

Post by Jane »

Hi,