* MAC Pro for V5.6

Homeless Posts from the old forum system
Locked
User avatar
jsphillips
Superstar
Posts: 416
Joined: 13 Aug 2006 16:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Near Sevenoaks Kent

MAC Pro for V5.6

Post by jsphillips » 20 Jul 2012 09:15

I was contemplating buying a MacPro for Travel as lightweight and small.
Is there a Mac version I can use or do I have to partition disc with Windows etc.
Is anyone out there doing this please.

ID:6407

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7751
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

MAC Pro for V5.6

Post by Jane » 20 Jul 2012 09:38

FH is a Windows only program.

You can run it using Parallels or VM-Ware with a virtual machine under iMac and you might be able to run it under CrossOver as well, but I don't know if any one has done that yet.

User avatar
stewartrb
Diamond
Posts: 75
Joined: 21 Jun 2012 16:12
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Chesapeake, VA

MAC Pro for V5.6

Post by stewartrb » 22 Jul 2012 16:30

I'm using Bootcamp and Windows 7 on my iMac. Everything I want runs in Bootcamp, including FH, and I boot straight into Windows now. My iMac has been a great PC.

avatar
pjbwilson
Silver
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Sep 2003 12:50
Family Historian: None

MAC Pro for V5.6

Post by pjbwilson » 06 Aug 2012 00:05

I am try to install the V5 upgrade on VMWare 3.14, but I am getting the error: Internal Error: Failed to expand shell folder constant 'userdocs'

Has anyone else experienced this?

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7751
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

MAC Pro for V5.6

Post by Jane » 06 Aug 2012 07:37

It sounds like your My Documents link is broken,  take a look at this one to see if it helps.

http://faq.shopfactory.com/kb/article-25.html

Locked