* Which Forum?

Please only post suggestions and requests for help on using this web site here.

For help with FAMILY HISTORIAN itself please post in the Using Family Historian - General Usage Forum above.
rob p
Gold
Family Historian: V7

Which Forum?

Post by rob p »

I am new to FamilyHistorian. This forum and the one on groups.io are wonderful. Having not just one, but two excellent community support venues is amazing to this refugee from FTM and RM.
I almost daily peruse both forums. I often just pick a thread and read it; I learn something new about FH every time.

But it’s confusing. Is there a fundamental difference between the two? Is one more for a certain type of question/issue than the other? Or one more favored by the CP helpers?
BillH
Megastar

Re: Which Forum?

Post by BillH »

Rob,

This forum is hosted by the Family Historian User's Group. It is not affiliated officially with Calico Pie the creators of Family Historian. The groups.io forum is hosted by Calico Pie.

Another main difference is that you can upload files and screenshots to this forum and they appear right away. On the goups.io forum your posting is delayed while the message is reviewed and approved if it has attachments.

Personally I much prefer this FHUG forum. I find it much easier to hold a discussion with others on topics. Also the FHUG has a knowledge base which has a lot of valuable information and downloads. Any type of question relating to Family Historian can be asked on either forum. Calico Pie does not actively monitor this forum anymore and I've not seen many, if any, Calico Pie folks replying on the groups.io forum either.

Bill
Last edited by BillH on 14 Feb 2021 00:17, edited 1 time in total.
tatewise
Megastar

Post by tatewise »

The groups.io Email forum only deals with Family Historian issues.

This FHUG forum covers FH, Ancestral Sources, Research guidance, and many other genealogy-related topics.