* Multimedia

Older V4 Queries please post for any version in the General Forum
Locked
avatar
janefrances
Famous
Posts: 157
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 15:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Herts

Multimedia

Post by janefrances » 10 Apr 2013 19:17

I have been following Jane's excellent youtube video on 'how to enter a birth certificate as a source' and noticed that she made a new folder for certificates in the project window rather than the default one.

I think it would be a good idea for me to do this,as I have a lot of sources, trouble is, mine are just lumped together, my question is, how do I rearrange the certificates into separate folders without losing the link.

Thanks
Jane[smile]

ID:6886

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7743
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Multimedia

Post by Jane » 11 Apr 2013 18:48

I can't think of a very quick way without writing a plugin and as you have V4 it won't work for you.

A longer way is simply to go into the folder and rearrange all the files as you want them and then use the Tools>Wort With External File links tell FH where you moved the files to.
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

avatar
janefrances
Famous
Posts: 157
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 15:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Herts

Multimedia

Post by janefrances » 11 Apr 2013 20:23

I made a new folder and called it Birth Certificates in the media file of family historian projects but it doesn't show up in the work with external file links. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks
Jane

User avatar
LornaCraig
Megastar
Posts: 1543
Joined: 11 Jan 2005 17:36
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Multimedia

Post by LornaCraig » 11 Apr 2013 20:40

First move one of your birth cert images to the new folder (if you haven't already). Then open Work with External File Links. The image(s) you have moved will have a cross beside it/them. Now select one of those images from the list and click on 'Re-map' on the right, then select 'Re-map within project data folder'. You will be asked to select the target folder, and you should find that the new folder is listed.

(I am using v5 but I think the wording is the same in v4)

I hope this helps.
Lorna

avatar
janefrances
Famous
Posts: 157
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 15:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Herts

Multimedia

Post by janefrances » 11 Apr 2013 20:52

Tried this Lorna, however my 'remap within project folder' is greyed out.

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7743
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Multimedia

Post by Jane » 12 Apr 2013 08:12

> however my 'remap within project folder' is greyed out.

That normally means you don't have a Project. With your file open does the top of the window say Family Historian Project?
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

avatar
janefrances
Famous
Posts: 157
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 15:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Herts

Multimedia

Post by janefrances » 12 Apr 2013 09:04

At the top of my screen is Family Historian Gedcom-Janes Family Tree.ged-(Focus Window)

I have the feeling that this is not good news!
[confused]

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7743
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Multimedia

Post by Jane » 12 Apr 2013 13:33

It simply means for some reason you have not got a Project for your gedcom.

Did you think you should have one?
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

avatar
janefrances
Famous
Posts: 157
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 15:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Herts

Multimedia

Post by janefrances » 12 Apr 2013 14:07

Yes I thought I had. I would like to be using projects as it keeps all the media/sources together.
What should I be doing to put this right?
Thanks

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7743
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Multimedia

Post by Jane » 13 Apr 2013 12:48

The simplest way is to create a project from your gedcom.

If you look at the understanding projects video I think that shows you how to create a project from a gedcom.

If you have problems just ask.
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

avatar
janefrances
Famous
Posts: 157
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 15:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Herts

Multimedia

Post by janefrances » 13 Apr 2013 18:56

Thanks for your help. I have managed to sort out my  files and now they are showing as a Project file.

My folder for Birth Certificates is now showing up in the 'work with external file links' under projects. I clicked on the image I wanted moved, selected re-map and then selected 're-map within project folder' and selected my target folder but the link is still crossed out.[confused]

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7743
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Multimedia

Post by Jane » 14 Apr 2013 10:00

Did you actually move the file to that folder in Windows first?

I just did a quick video which might make it clearer.

http://youtu.be/ks6XrXMhnKs
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

avatar
janefrances
Famous
Posts: 157
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 15:44
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Herts

Multimedia

Post by janefrances » 14 Apr 2013 17:47

No I didn't move them in the windows file first - this is where I was going wrong Jane. Thanks for the video link. All works fine. Thank you [smile]

Locked