* Run Command on Created CD

Older V3 Queries please post for any version in the General Forum
Locked
avatar
JoanPotts
Gold
Posts: 19
Joined: 10 Dec 2004 16:41
Family Historian: None

Run Command on Created CD

Post by JoanPotts » 08 Dec 2012 15:01

I have just created a CD from FH when I run it on my Windows 7 laptop it runs OK. When I try to run it on my Windows 7 Desktop I get the message on the Auto Play window 'Run Start,exe - Publisher not specified'.
On the laptop the 'Run Start.exe' has the following: file:///E:data/index.html. How can I get this when using my desktop? I created the CD using my desktop.

ID:6638

User avatar
NickWalker
Megastar
Posts: 1163
Joined: 02 Jan 2004 17:39
Family Historian: V6
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Run Command on Created CD

Post by NickWalker » 09 Dec 2012 15:16

On the dialogue that displays this message is there an option to run the program anyway?

Nick
Nick Walker
Ancestral Sources Developer

http://www.ancestralsources.com

avatar
JoanPotts
Gold
Posts: 19
Joined: 10 Dec 2004 16:41
Family Historian: None

Run Command on Created CD

Post by JoanPotts » 19 Dec 2012 12:24

I do not have that option. All I have is 'install or run program from your media', 'run start.exe' & 'open folder to view files'. The only one that works is the last one, but that does not run the program, only lets me see what is on the disk.

User avatar
Jane
Site Admin
Posts: 7751
Joined: 01 Nov 2002 15:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Somerset, England
Contact:

Run Command on Created CD

Post by Jane » 19 Dec 2012 12:42

If you double click on the 'Run Start,exe - Publisher not specified' what happens?
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16642
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Run Command on Created CD

Post by tatewise » 19 Dec 2012 13:28

If you choose Open folder to view files, and then double-click on start.exe to run it, what happens?
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
JoanPotts
Gold
Posts: 19
Joined: 10 Dec 2004 16:41
Family Historian: None

Run Command on Created CD

Post by JoanPotts » 20 Dec 2012 10:33

Jane, nothing happens.

Tatewise, I do not have start.exe, I just have data-file folder, autorun-Setup Information, fh-icon & start-Application.
If I open autorun it opens notepad with
[autorun]
open=start.exe
icon=fh.ico
and if I double click start nothing happens.

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16642
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Run Command on Created CD

Post by tatewise » 20 Dec 2012 11:03

Yes, start.exe = start Application.
So, double-click on start Application to run it.

Alternatively, open the data folder, and double-click the index file.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
JoanPotts
Gold
Posts: 19
Joined: 10 Dec 2004 16:41
Family Historian: None

Run Command on Created CD

Post by JoanPotts » 20 Dec 2012 13:13

Neither of those suggestions work. Nothing happens when I double click start application and when I click on the index file I get - this file does not have a program associated with it to perform the action. Please install a program or, if one is already installed, create an association in the Default Programs control panel.

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 16642
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Run Command on Created CD

Post by tatewise » 20 Dec 2012 14:24

AAAH! That is the problem!!!
Your default browser ~ Internet Explorer, or perhaps Firefox or Google Chrome, has lost its association with HTML web page files.
This apparently happens quite often with Windows.

To fix that use Start orb > Default Programs > Set your default programs near top, and wait for the list to load.
From the Programs list on the left select Internet Explorer or Firefox or your preferred browser.
Then click Set this program as default near the bottom.

Now your CD should work.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

avatar
JoanPotts
Gold
Posts: 19
Joined: 10 Dec 2004 16:41
Family Historian: None

Run Command on Created CD

Post by JoanPotts » 20 Dec 2012 17:01

Thank you very much for your help. It works now.

Locked