* TMG sources not importing

Importing from another genealogy program? This is the place to ask. Questions about Exporting should go in the Exporting sub-forum of the General Usage forum.
Pblackwood
Silver
Family Historian: V7

TMG sources not importing

Post by Pblackwood »

I am new to FH. I am trialling transferring some projects from TMG 9.5 to the trial version of FH 6.2

I have a number of separate projects, some of which have imported OK. But there are several for which no sources have come across, though other data they contain appears to come across OK.

I have tried the following, each without success:

1. Direct import
2. Converting to GEDCOM and then importing
3. Reinstalling TMG
4. Re-indexing, optimising and validating project before importing
5. As suggested in the Knowledge Base, creating a blank project in TMG, then merging with the project to be imported.

These projects have one thing in common. Over the years they have each been started by copying an existing project and saving with a new name. The project they all ultimately originate from has imported OK, including sources.

The original project and all subsequent ones have only ever been compiled in TMG.

Finally, I have tried creating a new project from scratch in TMG and the sources for this transferred OK.

It appears that there is something amiss with just this set of projects.

Any ideas appreciated.

Peter
Jane
Site Admin

Re: TMG sources not importing

Post by Jane »

It does sound like the problem is in TMG as if it's not finding the sources when exporting a gedcom it suggests they are not linked to the facts. If you view the projects within TMG do the sources show against the correct items with in it?
Jane
My Family History : My Photography "Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad."
tatewise
Megastar

Post by tatewise »

Welcome to the FHUG Peter.

As Jane says, first double check that the Sources are correctly linked in TMG.