* Military Records post WW1

Got general Family History research questions - this is the place
wellsdc
Gold
Family Historian: V6.2

Military Records post WW1

Post by wellsdc »

Hi all

I'm still fairly new to all this so please bear with me!

Trying to find military records of a couple of my relatives. Been using FH with Find My Past and have tried National Archives on occasion.

One was a Robert Collinson, my great uncle, who died in Iraq in 1929 as a corporal with the RAF. I have his service record showing when he joined, where he was posted etc, but I want to know how he died i.e killed in action, natural causes, accident, etc and where he is buried - RAF Hinaidi, or back home in Liverpool. Tried National Archives and googling RAF historical society but can't seem to find a source that would show me that level of detail.

Similarly, another great uncle who was in WW2 - Harry Liversidge. Royal Signals and I think an Armoured regiment. He was in the reserves just before the war too, I believe. He survived the war as I remember him from the 1970s and early 80s

Any ideas?

Thanks for any tips.
Gowermick
Megastar
Family Historian: V7

Re: Military Records post WW1

Post by Gowermick »

Try the Commonwealth War Graves Comission website (www.cwgc.org)
If they were killed in action, they should have an entry. CWGC provides details of their death and next of kin, and an image of their actual headstone if they had one.

If they survived the war, their service records are still witheld, and only available to next of kin or with their permission. You have to apply to see them. It cost me £30 for my father’s records, but they were a long time coming once I applied for them. (Sorry, but I can’t remember who I had to apply to)
You could try google :D
Mike Loney

Website http://www.loney.tribalpages.com
http://www.mickloney.tribalpages.com
AdrianBruce
Megastar

Post by AdrianBruce »