* How wide to go? (Cousins)

Got general Family History research questions - this is the place
Nita55
Silver
Family Historian: V6

How wide to go? (Cousins)

Post by Nita55 »

Dear All,
I am going to be starting a new tree - I have one I've been working on for 20 years and its reached over 4000 people (not all blood relations). I have added notes in the events for census/Bap/Birth etc for most people, but have only recently started downloading images of census etc and adding with Ancestral Sources. Its all a bit mixed in terms of consistency!
My question is - how far wide do you go in terms of cousins? I have some 5th cousins and 3x removed cousins but am unsure where to stop!
many thanks for any advice

Nita
johnmorrisoniom
Megastar
Family Historian: V7

Re: How wide to go? (Cousins)

Post by johnmorrisoniom »

I never stop (My tree has 55000+ individuals), because you never know when someone marries a very distant relation
Nita55
Silver

Post by Nita55 »

Thanks John...55K :shock: I have a way to go, then!
tatewise
Megastar

Post by tatewise »

Nita, it is a personal preference how far you research your family tree.
There is always another family connection just begging to be investigated, and you never know when it might lead somewhere extremely interesting and establish some famous (or infamous) family connection.
It is certainly worth reviewing what you have to establish consistency, and ensure all the relationships are authenticated, especially as there is so much more available online now than 20 years ago.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry
rfj1001
Superstar

Post by rfj1001 »

I just keep going where my interest and research takes me - up to 10,000. The people are either all connected, however loosely - or are detailed trees that I had to build up, just to (eventually :D ) rule out that I was following an incorrect line - just as useful though, both to me and others.