* Prog conflict Custodian 3?

The place to chat and put the world to rights
Post Reply
User avatar
jsphillips
Superstar
Posts: 452
Joined: 13 Aug 2006 16:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Near Sevenoaks Kent

Prog conflict Custodian 3?

Post by jsphillips » 16 Feb 2018 12:12

Recently I accessed a program that I had not used for some time a genealogical program called Astrocalc.
It did run under Win 10 64X
It refused to run saying "the feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable"

Click ok again or got to a folder containing the installation package "Custodian3.msi" in the box below.
Of course these 2 programs have no relationship to one another
Is there a conflict ?
I have reinstalled the Astrocalc but the same thing still happens
My Drives are SSD C drive and D Drive for data and I have no problems with any other progs.
Any help gratefully received

User avatar
jsphillips
Superstar
Posts: 452
Joined: 13 Aug 2006 16:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Near Sevenoaks Kent

Re: Prog conflict Custodian 3?

Post by jsphillips » 16 Feb 2018 12:30

Continuing the prog install refers to C:\ Windows\Download Installations. Does Custodian 3 Use this as well please
Thanks

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 18451
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Prog conflict Custodian 3?

Post by tatewise » 16 Feb 2018 13:02

Presumably you have bought both Astrocalc and Custodian?

So only other users who have bought both products will be able to answer your questions.

This is just some guesswork.
Does C:\ Windows\Download Installations\ hold the Custodian3.msi file?
Or can you search the C: drive for the Custodian3.msi file?
If you find it, then temporarily rename it, or perhaps copy it to a pen drive and delete it.

Does that avoid the problem?

Also, try reporting it via http://www.astrocalc.com/contacts/ or http://www.custodian3.co.uk/contact.html.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

User avatar
jsphillips
Superstar
Posts: 452
Joined: 13 Aug 2006 16:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Near Sevenoaks Kent

Re: Prog conflict Custodian 3?

Post by jsphillips » 16 Feb 2018 13:31

If I access C:\windows\Downloaded Installations there is only one file there. If I click on it a file of "hieroglyphics" shows up no ref to Custodian.
Yes I have bought both Custodian 3 and Astrocalc.
I also searched for Custodian3.msi and also Custodian 3.msi no trace.
I think the only way is to delete fully both progs with add remove progs and the ref to above and start again.
I also wonder whether the Autumn falls update has upset the applecart ?
I just wondered whether the creator of Custodian 3 is aware ?
Thanks

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 18451
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Prog conflict Custodian 3?

Post by tatewise » 16 Feb 2018 13:37

You will have to contact the authors of both products to let them know.
Neither of them is anything to do with FH.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry

User avatar
jsphillips
Superstar
Posts: 452
Joined: 13 Aug 2006 16:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Near Sevenoaks Kent

Re: Prog conflict Custodian 3?

Post by jsphillips » 16 Feb 2018 17:55

Hi Mike sorry
the prog goes back a long way 12+ years and I thought it was originally part of FH
It is useless and seems to corrupt other files .msi files are strange
Thanks for help as I am unable to use add change delete in Control Panel will go to my guru to delete.
Thanks for your help and I apologise as I thought it was part of the old FH prog
Thanks anyway
all the best

Post Reply