* Help with an expression

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile. If your question fits in one of these subject-specific sub-forums, please ask it there.
Ossey55
Diamond
Family Historian: V7

Help with an expression

Post by Ossey55 »

I am trying to use an expression to show when someone has a GPS location for a tombstone in the Burial note field.
expression: =ContainsText(%INDI.BURI.NOTE%,"GPS",STD)
It does not give me an error when I exit and apply but it does not show the icon I set for it.
I am very new to Family Historian, about 3 months now coming from Family Tree Maker for over 30 years. Any help would be appreciated.
Jim
tatewise
Megastar

Re: Help with an expression

Post by tatewise »

Welcome to the FHUG Jim.

Reading between the lines, I guess you are using the Diagram > Options > Boxes tab to set a Condition Expression for an Icon feature.

When you use the << Insert Data Ref button the Individual + Events + Burial + Note option will provide the Expression for %INDI.BURI[1].NOTE2[1]% that refers to the local Note on the Burial event.

Whereas, Individual + Events + Burial + Note Record> will provide %INDI.BURI[1].NOTE[1]>% that refers to a linked shared Note Record.

The subtle difference is NOTE2 for a local Note versus NOTE for a linked Note Record. That difference trips up many new users.

BTW: The [1] indexes specify the 1st instance of the associated item but if omitted the data reference refers to the 1st instances by default. There is only likely to be one Burial (BURI) event and one local Note (NOTE2) so the default is OK. However, other facts such as Occupation, Census, Residence and other data structures typically have more than one instance where the index is crucially important.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history ~ tatewise ancestry
Ossey55
Diamond

Post by Ossey55 »

Thank you Mike. I will try that.