* Structuring your project

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile. If your question fits in one of these subject-specific sub-forums, please ask it there.
petere
Family Historian: V6.2

Structuring your project

Post by petere »

Hi All,

A quick question from a complete beginner.

I have started my family tree using V6.2.7 and have come to a point where I now want to add trees for all the Mother's sides, with their own surname, parents and kids.

My question is, do I add them on to my existing tree or do I create separate projects for each surname?

I don't yet understand the pros and cons of the two strategies.

Please help
Petere
Valkrider
Megastar
Family Historian: V7

Re: Structuring your project

Post by Valkrider »

Petere

There are two schools of thought as you describe.

The thing you need to consider is the manageability of multiple projects and how you handle marriages between surnames. With separate projects for each surname you will potentially be doubling your input having to enter people twice in two projects. Keeping this all in sync as you find more information will be come problematic and may lead to errors.

Unless you have a very good reason then I would suggest one project for everyone. Some users have many thousands in their project so there is no problem with the software and you can easily report on jut one branch of a family.
tatewise
Megastar

Post by tatewise »

Welcome to the FHUG.

That is a recurring question.
It is generally advisable to keep everyone in one family tree.

Otherwise, it is impossible to produce Reports and Diagrams of each person's relatives.
e.g. If you put maternal ancestors in a separate Project, you cannot produce a complete descendants Report or Diagram.
Unless, as Colin says, you have a lot of double entries.