*duplicated sources

Questions regarding use of any Version of Family Historian. Please ensure you have set your Version of Family Historian in your Profile
Johnr65
Famous
Posts: 194
Joined: 22 Jun 2014 08:20
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Milton Keynes, Bucks, England

duplicated sources

Postby Johnr65 » 20 Mar 2017 13:07

I've found that I've duplicated some citation/source names-is it possible to use edit and merge the 2 titles?

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 11206
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: duplicated sources

Postby tatewise » 20 Mar 2017 13:37

Yes, in the Records Window select the Source record you want to become master.
Use Edit > Merge/Compare Records and select the other Source record.

In the Merge/Compare dialogue ensure every field you want to keep is retained.

The resultant Source record should keep any Media linked to the originals, and all Citations of both originals will cite the remaining Source.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history.

Johnr65
Famous
Posts: 194
Joined: 22 Jun 2014 08:20
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Milton Keynes, Bucks, England

Re: duplicated sources

Postby Johnr65 » 20 Mar 2017 14:19

Thank you Mike, I thought it could be done that way but didn't want to cause myself any problems! :roll:

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 11206
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: duplicated sources

Postby tatewise » 20 Mar 2017 14:30

The standard way to mitigate against such potential risks is to create a Small Backup of the Gedcom beforehand.
Experiment with a few typical cases of whatever new technique you what to use.
Then if all goes pear-shaped, first try Edit > Undo repeatedly to reverse all the changes, but do that BEFORE closing FH.
If that does not get back where you started, then simply restore the Small Backup to reset the Gedcom file.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history.

Gowermick
Superstar
Posts: 329
Joined: 13 Oct 2015 07:22
Family Historian: V6.2

Re: duplicated sources

Postby Gowermick » 20 Mar 2017 18:48

Only thing I'd like to add, is that after marking the two sources ( or places etc), when the merge screen pops up, ensure that the item with the majoriy of details you wish to keep, is moved to the top of the list in the right hand pane, before clicking merge. (Highlight an item then use up/down arrows to order them as appropriate).
Mike Loney

Using FH Version 6.2.4, with Windows 10 (Version 1607 Build14393.953), LibreOffice 5.2.5.1, Firefox 52.0 (64Bit) & Thunderbird 45.8
Website http://www.loney.tribalpages.com
http://www.mickloney.tribalpages.com

User avatar
tatewise
Megastar
Posts: 11206
Joined: 25 May 2010 11:00
Family Historian: V6.2
Location: Torbay, Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: duplicated sources

Postby tatewise » 20 Mar 2017 18:53

That is good advice Mike, and is why I suggest you choose the master record first, then Edit > Merge/Compare Records, and then select the record to be merged into the master. That ensures they appear in the order you advised.
Mike Tate ~ researching the Tate and Scott family history.


Return to “General Usage”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests